Roundup · Online selling

The best AI tools for Etsy sellers in the UK (2026)

Published 19 October 2026 · Checked 19 October 2026, prices change

How we research: this guide is based on each vendor’s official pricing pages, help centre and privacy documentation, and official GOV.UK and regulator pages, read on 19 October 2026. We haven’t tested these tools hands-on for this page, and we haven’t been paid to include any tool. Where a vendor doesn’t publish something, we say “not stated”. Checked 19 October 2026, prices change.

Etsy sellers spend as long on photos, listings and promotion as on making things. Three AI tools cover most of that for a small UK shop: Photoroom for product photos, ChatGPT for listing titles and descriptions, and Canva for social posts and shop graphics. Here’s what each costs, what Etsy’s own AI rule says, and the fees and HMRC points to keep in mind, from official pages.

Our picks

Photoroom for product photos

Start with your photos: Photoroom removes backgrounds and creates clean product shots from a phone picture; its Pro plan was shown at US$7.50 a month billed yearly to us, and Photoroom says VAT is already included. Our product photos task page has a 30-second video tip. See Photoroom pricing ↗

For listings and promotion: ChatGPT drafts titles, descriptions and replies on its free plan (Plus is £20 a month), and Canva makes social posts and shop banners on its free plan (Pro is £100 a year for one person). Whatever you use, Etsy says you must disclose AI-made items in the listing description.

Etsy’s AI rule: disclose it in the listing

Etsy’s seller handbook says it allows sellers to use their own original prompts with AI tools to create the artwork they sell, for example a custom pet portrait generated with AI, but sellers must disclose within the listing description if an item is created with the use of AI. It prohibits selling AI prompt bundles without the finished artwork, and AI-generated nudity or sexual content must follow its Prohibited Items Policy (Etsy: What is Etsy’s stance on AI creations?). Using AI to tidy a photo of something you made yourself is different from selling an AI-generated design, but the photo must still show the item accurately.

The three tools at a glance

PhotoroomChatGPTCanva
Best forProduct photos: background removal, shadows, retouching, resizingListing titles, descriptions, tags and customer repliesSocial posts, shop banners and simple graphics
Free optionFree plan (see pricing page for limits)Free plan with limitsFree plan
Paid fromPro US$7.50 a month billed yearly (shown to us in US dollars)Plus £20 a monthPro £100 a year for one person
VATPhotoroom says VAT is already includedNot stated on the pricing pageCheck at checkout

From photoroom.com/pricing (checked 19 October 2026; Photoroom says the credits in each plan may vary by country), chatgpt.com/pricing (see our ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini guide, checked 19 October 2026) and canva.com/en_gb/pricing (see our website builder roundup, checked 19 October 2026). UK VAT at the standard rate is 20% (GOV.UK).

1. Photoroom: clean product photos from your phone

Photoroom’s core tools, including Background Remover, preset shadows, Product Fixer, Retouch, AI Fill, AI Expand and Resize and Image Enhancer, are included on every paid plan without using credits. The Pro plan was shown at US$7.50 a month billed yearly, with 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month; AI credits are used by heavier tools such as AI Backgrounds and AI Fashion Models. Photoroom says VAT is already included and it refunds up to one week after purchase (Photoroom pricing).

Keep it accurate: a clean background is fine, but don’t use AI to change the colour, size or detail of the item itself. Buyers rely on the photo.

2. ChatGPT: listing titles and descriptions

Give ChatGPT the facts, such as materials, size, colours, care and what makes the item different, and ask for a title, a description and a list of search phrases buyers might use. Then check every claim against the real item before you publish. ChatGPT Free is £0 with limits, and Plus is £20 a month (ChatGPT pricing). On personal plans, OpenAI says your content can be used to train its models unless you opt out, so keep buyers’ names and addresses out of it.

3. Canva: social posts and shop graphics

Canva’s templates and AI features cover shop banners, social posts, thank-you cards and simple mock-ups. The free plan is enough to start, and Canva Pro is £100 a year for one person (Canva pricing). Canva lets you manage AI training in your privacy settings.

Etsy fees and HMRC: the numbers to know

Etsy charges a US$0.20 listing fee per item (listings last four months) and a 6.5% transaction fee on the price you display plus postage and gift wrapping. For sellers outside the US, the transaction fee applies to the listing price including any taxes you’re responsible for (Etsy Fees & Payments Policy). Because the listing fee is billed in dollars, the pound amount can vary. Payment processing fees depend on where your bank account is; check the UK row in Etsy’s Etsy Payments Policy.

Since 1 January 2024, digital platforms such as Etsy may collect your details and report your sales income to HMRC; they don’t report you if you make fewer than 30 sales of goods in a calendar year and receive less than €2,000 (about £1,700) (GOV.UK: Selling goods or services on a digital platform). Being reported doesn’t automatically mean you owe tax. If you make things to sell, you’re probably trading, and GOV.UK says you need to tell HMRC if your total trading income is over the £1,000 trading allowance in a tax year (GOV.UK: Check if you need to tell HMRC). This is general information, not tax advice.

FAQ

What are the best AI tools for Etsy sellers?
For most small UK shops: Photoroom for product photos, ChatGPT for listing titles and descriptions, and Canva for social posts and shop graphics. All three have a free plan, so you can try them before you pay.
Do I have to say if I used AI on Etsy?
Yes, for items created with AI. Etsy’s seller handbook says sellers must disclose within the listing description if an item is created with the use of AI. It also prohibits selling AI prompt bundles without the finished artwork.
How much does Photoroom cost in the UK?
Photoroom’s Pro plan was shown to us at US$7.50 a month billed yearly, with 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month. Photoroom says VAT is already included, and that the credits in a plan may vary by country, so check the price shown to you.
What are Etsy’s fees?
Etsy charges a US$0.20 listing fee per item, with listings lasting four months, and a 6.5% transaction fee on the displayed price plus postage and gift wrapping. Payment processing fees vary by the country of your bank account.
Will Etsy tell HMRC about my sales?
It may. GOV.UK says digital platforms report sellers’ details and income to HMRC unless they make fewer than 30 sales of goods and receive less than €2,000 (about £1,700) in a calendar year. Being reported doesn’t automatically mean you owe tax, but if you make goods to sell and your trading income is over £1,000 in a tax year, you need to tell HMRC.
Have you tested these tools?
No. This roundup is based on each vendor’s official pricing pages, Etsy’s own policies and GOV.UK guidance, checked on 19 October 2026. Prices change, so check the vendor’s page before you buy.

Sources

Official pages read on 19 October 2026. Checked 19 October 2026, prices change — always check the vendor’s own page before you buy.