Roundup · Bookkeeping

AI bookkeeping for UK sole traders: Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent (2026)

Published 19 October 2026 · Checked 19 October 2026, prices change

How we research: this guide is based on each vendor’s official pricing pages, help centre and privacy documentation, and official GOV.UK and regulator pages, read on 19 October 2026. We haven’t tested these tools hands-on for this page, and we haven’t been paid to include any tool. Where a vendor doesn’t publish something, we say “not stated”. Checked 19 October 2026, prices change.

For a sole trader, “AI bookkeeping” mostly means software that reads your receipts, sorts your bank transactions into the right categories and gets your figures ready for HMRC, so the end of the tax year isn’t a shoebox of paper. The three packages most UK sole traders choose between are Xero, QuickBooks and FreeAgent. Here’s what the AI in each one actually does, what it costs, and how Making Tax Digital for Income Tax affects your choice, from the vendors’ own pages and GOV.UK.

Our verdict

FreeAgent if you bank with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle

Check whether you can get FreeAgent free first: FreeAgent says it’s free for as long as you keep a business current account with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland or Ulster Bank, or have a Mettle account and make at least one transaction a month. It includes Smart Capture for up to 10 receipts and bills a month, and it’s on HMRC’s list of software for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax. See FreeAgent pricing ↗

Paying for software? QuickBooks has a Sole Trader Plus plan with receipt capture, mileage tracking and CIS, and a 30-day free trial. Xero includes smart document capture and Hubdoc on every plan, from Ignite at £18 a month excluding VAT after its introductory period, and suits you if your accountant already uses it.

First: Making Tax Digital for Income Tax

GOV.UK says you need to use Making Tax Digital (MTD) for Income Tax if you’re a sole trader or landlord registered for Self Assessment and your qualifying income from self-employment and property is over the threshold (GOV.UK: Find out if and when you need to use MTD for Income Tax):

  • over £50,000 in 2024 to 2025: you should have started from 6 April 2026
  • over £30,000 in 2025 to 2026: from 6 April 2027
  • over £20,000 in 2026 to 2027: from 6 April 2028

MTD means keeping digital records and sending updates to HMRC from compatible software, so if you’re near a threshold, pick software that supports MTD for Income Tax now. FreeAgent and QuickBooks both say theirs does; check HMRC’s own list before you commit. Some people are exempt, for example if they’re digitally excluded; the GOV.UK page links to the exemption rules.

Xero vs QuickBooks vs FreeAgent at a glance

FreeAgentQuickBooksXero
AI and automationSmart Capture reads receipts and bills; smart categorisation explains bank transactions from past descriptionsAutomated bookkeeping learns how you categorise; receipt capture; Intuit Intelligence features (not available on Sole Trader plans)Smart document capture reads receipts, bills and invoices; Hubdoc included
Free routeFree with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle business account (conditions apply); otherwise 30-day free trial30-day free trialFree month (“Get one month free”)
PriceSole trader price: see FreeAgent’s pricing page (it shows prices excluding 20% VAT, with an introductory discount)Not shown in the version of the page we could read; check the pricing pageIgnite £18 a month after the introductory period
Receipt capture limit10 receipts and bills a month included; unlimited £5 a month + VATReceipt capture includedNo separate charge for document capture
MTD for Income TaxYes, says it’s on HMRC’s list of compatible softwareSays “MTD for Income Tax ready”Check Xero’s and HMRC’s pages
VAT on the priceExcludes VATNot stated in the version we readExcludes VAT

From freeagent.com/pricing, quickbooks.intuit.com/uk/pricing and xero.com/uk/pricing-plans. FreeAgent and QuickBooks checked 19 October 2026; the Xero price is from our Dext vs AutoEntry vs Xero guide, checked 19 October 2026. QuickBooks shows its prices with JavaScript, and the version of the page we could read didn’t include them, so we haven’t quoted any. VAT: add 20% UK VAT to prices shown excluding VAT (GOV.UK).

1. FreeAgent: free through some business banks

FreeAgent includes invoicing, estimates, expenses, bank feeds, Self Assessment and MTD for Income Tax for sole traders. Its Smart Capture tool extracts data from receipt and bill images, matches them to bank transactions and categorises them; every business can use it for up to 10 files a month, and the Smart Capture Unlimited add-on is £5 a month plus VAT. Smart categorisation explains new bank transactions based on earlier descriptions (FreeAgent pricing). FreeAgent says your data is held in AWS data centres and encrypted in transit and at rest; the region is not stated on the pricing page.

Pick FreeAgent if…

  • You bank with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle and can get it free.
  • You want Self Assessment and MTD in the same place as your invoices.

2. QuickBooks: for trades and CIS

QuickBooks’ Sole Trader Plus plan lists automated bank feeds, automated bookkeeping that learns how you categorise income and expenses, receipt capture, mileage tracking (on its mobile apps), invoices and estimates, Self Assessment preparation, MTD for Income Tax, and Construction Industry Scheme (CIS) calculations (QuickBooks pricing). Its Intuit Intelligence AI features aren’t available on QuickBooks Sole Trader, and direct VAT submission isn’t available on Sole Trader Plus, so a VAT-registered sole trader would need a higher plan. There’s a 30-day free trial, and if you choose a discounted Buy Now offer instead you can’t also have the trial.

Pick QuickBooks if…

  • You’re in construction and deal with CIS.
  • You drive for work and want automatic mileage tracking.

3. Xero: if your accountant uses it

Xero’s smart document capture reads receipts, bills and invoices that you photograph, forward or upload, and Hubdoc is included on its UK plans. Ignite is £18 a month excluding VAT after the introductory period (Xero pricing). Many accountants work in Xero, so it’s worth asking yours before you choose. Our Dext vs AutoEntry vs Xero guide covers Xero’s capture, AI training and data storage in detail.

Pick Xero if…

  • Your accountant or bookkeeper already uses Xero.
  • You want receipt capture with no separate add-on.

What about ChatGPT for bookkeeping?

A general AI assistant such as ChatGPT can explain a term, draft a polite payment chaser or help with a spreadsheet formula (see our formula task page), but it isn’t bookkeeping software: it doesn’t keep your records, connect to your bank or file with HMRC. Don’t paste bank statements or customer details into a personal AI account, and check any tax figure with HMRC’s guidance or your accountant.

Record-keeping and privacy note

GOV.UK says sole traders must keep records for at least 5 years after the 31 January submission deadline of the relevant tax year, and you can keep them digitally (GOV.UK self-employed records). Receipts and invoices can contain other people’s personal data, so check each provider’s data processing terms. This is general information, not tax or legal advice; ask an accountant about your own situation.

FAQ

What’s the best AI bookkeeping software for a UK sole trader?
If you bank with NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle, start with FreeAgent, which those banks provide free (conditions apply) and which includes Smart Capture for 10 receipts a month and MTD for Income Tax. Otherwise QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus suits trades that deal with CIS, and Xero suits you if your accountant already uses it.
Do I need Making Tax Digital software as a sole trader?
GOV.UK says you need to use MTD for Income Tax if your qualifying self-employment and property income was over £50,000 in 2024 to 2025 (from 6 April 2026), over £30,000 in 2025 to 2026 (from 6 April 2027), or over £20,000 in 2026 to 2027 (from 6 April 2028). Some people are exempt.
Is there free bookkeeping software for sole traders?
FreeAgent says it’s free for as long as you keep a business current account with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland or Ulster Bank, or have a Mettle account and make at least one transaction a month. QuickBooks has a 30-day free trial and Xero offers a free month.
Are the prices with or without VAT?
FreeAgent and Xero show prices excluding VAT, so add 20%. The version of QuickBooks’ pricing page we could read didn’t show prices or say whether they include VAT, so check at checkout.
Can ChatGPT do my bookkeeping?
No. ChatGPT can explain terms, draft emails and help with spreadsheet formulas, but it doesn’t keep your records, connect to your bank or file with HMRC. Use bookkeeping software for that, and keep bank statements and customer details out of personal AI accounts.
Have you tested these tools?
No. This roundup is based on each vendor’s official pricing pages and GOV.UK guidance, checked on 19 October 2026. Prices change, so check the vendor’s page before you buy.

Sources

Official pages read on 19 October 2026. Checked 19 October 2026, prices change — always check the vendor’s own page before you buy.