Comparison · Audio & voice

ElevenLabs vs Murf for UK small business voiceovers (2026)

Published 18 October 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026, prices change

How we research: this comparison is based on each vendor’s official documentation, help centre and published pricing, read on 18 October 2026. We haven’t tested these tools hands-on for this page, and we haven’t been paid to include any tool. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change.

ElevenLabs and Murf both turn a script into a natural-sounding voiceover for adverts, explainers and training videos. For a business the deciding points are the commercial licence, what you get for the money, and what happens to the scripts and audio you upload. Here’s how they compare on each vendor’s published pricing and documentation.

Our verdict

ElevenLabs

ElevenLabs is the better pick for most UK small businesses: the commercial licence starts on its cheapest paid plan (Starter, US$6 a month), billing is monthly or annual, and the free plan lets you hear the voices before you pay. Visit ElevenLabs ↗

Pick Murf instead Murf AI if you want a studio-style editor with a business licence and PowerPoint integration on one annual plan, or a vendor that keeps all customer data in one US region without a training toggle to remember.

ElevenLabs vs Murf at a glance

ElevenLabsMurf AI
Free planUS$0: 10,000 credits a month (about 10 minutes of text to speech); no commercial licenceUS$0: 10 minutes of voice generation, 10 projects; no downloads and no commercial rights
Cheapest plan with commercial useStarter US$6/month (US$5/month billed annually)Creator US$19/month billed annually (US$228 a year)
Next tierCreator US$22/month (US$18.33/month billed annually)Business US$66/month billed annually (US$792 a year), includes a Business License
Monthly billingYes; annual billing is priced at 10 months for 12Monthly price not stated on the page we captured
Commercial licenceFrom Starter upwardsAll paid plans; Murf recommends the Business License for registered businesses. Broadcast rights are Enterprise only
Tax wording“Prices exclude all taxes, levies and duties”Not stated
Where data is storedUS as standard; EU, India and Singapore storage for Enterprise (data residency)AWS US-East-2 (Ohio) for storage, backups and processing
Used to train AI?Yes by default for non-Enterprise users; switch off “Improve the models for everyone” in Terms and privacy → Data useNot stated on Murf’s security page

Prices as shown in US dollars on elevenlabs.io/pricing and on the Studio tab of murf.ai/pricing, checked 18 October 2026. First-month and other introductory offers excluded. ElevenLabs says its prices exclude taxes, so UK VAT may be added; Murf’s page doesn’t say. VAT: UK VAT (standard rate 20%, see GOV.UK) may be added at checkout unless the vendor says otherwise; if you’re VAT-registered, check how the supplier invoices you and ask your accountant how to record it.

Pick ElevenLabs if…

  • You want commercial use for the least money: Starter at US$6 a month includes a commercial licence.
  • You’d like to pay monthly while you work out how much voiceover you really need.
  • You want to try voices first on a free plan (about 10 minutes a month, not for commercial use).
  • You need things beyond voiceover, such as voice cloning (Instant Voice Cloning is listed from Starter).

Pick Murf if…

  • You’re a registered business and want the licence Murf recommends for that — the Business plan’s Business License.
  • You produce a lot of narration: Creator includes 24 hours a year of voice generation and Business 96 hours a year.
  • You build training or sales content in PowerPoint, which Murf lists as an integration on Business.
  • You prefer one fixed annual price, and data stored and processed in a single AWS region.

Privacy note for UK businesses

Scripts can include product plans or client names, and a cloned voice is personal data. ElevenLabs says it uses certain customer data to improve its models for everyone unless you opt out in Terms and privacy → Data use; Enterprise customers aren’t trained on by default (ElevenLabs help). Its standard storage is in the US, with EU storage only through Enterprise data residency (ElevenLabs data residency). Murf says all customer data, backups and audio processing stay in AWS US-East-2 in Ohio (Murf security). Either way your data leaves the UK, so read the ICO guidance on international transfers, and get written consent before cloning anyone’s voice. This is general information, not legal advice.

For a step-by-step walkthrough, see our guide to making an AI voiceover for business videos.

FAQ

Can I use ElevenLabs or Murf free for business videos?
Not on the free plans. ElevenLabs’ free plan has no commercial licence, which starts on Starter. Murf’s free plan has no downloads and no commercial rights; all Murf paid plans include commercial rights.
Which is cheaper, ElevenLabs or Murf?
On 18 October 2026 ElevenLabs Starter was US$6 a month (US$5 billed annually) and Murf Creator was US$19 a month billed annually, so ElevenLabs is cheaper to start with commercial use. Compare the minutes each plan includes before you decide.
Which licence does Murf recommend for a company?
Murf’s help centre says all paid plans include commercial rights, and recommends the Business License, on its Business plan, for registered businesses. Broadcast rights for TV and radio are Enterprise only.
Does ElevenLabs train its AI on my audio?
By default ElevenLabs may use certain data to improve its models unless you switch off Improve the models for everyone in Terms and privacy, Data use. Enterprise customers are not trained on by default.
Where do ElevenLabs and Murf store data?
ElevenLabs stores customer data in the US as standard, with EU storage available through Enterprise data residency. Murf says it stores and processes customer data in AWS US-East-2 in Ohio.
Have you tested both tools?
No. This comparison is based on each vendor’s official documentation and published pricing, checked on 18 October 2026. Prices change, so check the vendor’s page before you buy.

Sources

Official pages read on 18 October 2026. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change — always check the vendor’s own page before you buy.