Roundup · Video

The best free AI video editor for UK small businesses (2026)

Published 18 October 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026, prices change

How we research: this comparison is based on each vendor’s official documentation, help centre and published pricing, read on 18 October 2026. We haven’t tested these tools hands-on for this page, and we haven’t been paid to include any tool. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change.

You need short videos for social media, your website or training, without paying an agency. Three AI video tools with free plans come up again and again: Descript (edit video by editing its transcript), CapCut (a full editor with templates) and OpusClip (turns a long video into short clips automatically). Here’s what each free plan actually allows, based on each vendor’s published pricing and documentation.

Best free pick

Descript

Descript is the best free AI video editor for most UK small businesses: you edit talking-head videos, webinars and podcasts by editing the transcript, the Free plan includes an hour of media a month, and Descript only uses your content for in-house AI training if you’ve opted in to data sharing. Visit Descript ↗

Also consider: CapCut for template-led social edits, if you’re comfortable with its data policy · OpusClip to cut a long video into short clips automatically (free clips are watermarked).

Free plans compared

DescriptCapCutOpusClip
Free planUS$0: 60 media minutes a month, 100 AI credits (one-time), unlimited projectsGBP 0: free templates and basic editing toolsUS$0: 60 credits a month, AI clipping, auto reframe and AI captions
Export on freeLocal export up to 720pNot stated on the pricing pageUp to 1080p rendered clips; clips can’t be exported after 3 days
Watermark on freeNot stated for Free; paid plans are sold as “watermark-free”Not stated on the pricing pageYes, free clips have a watermark
Editing on freeText-based editing; AI tools limitedBasic editing toolsNo editing
Paid fromHobbyist US$16 per person/month billed annually (US$24 monthly): 10 media hours, 1080p watermark-free exportPro GBP 21.99/month as displayed (CapCut says displayed pricing is for reference only)Starter US$15/month (monthly only): 150 credits, watermark removed
Used to train AI?Production models use no user data; in-house training only uses data from users who opted in to data sharingUK/EEA policy says user content is used to improve the services, including training machine-learning modelsMay use de-identified data from individual (non-enterprise) users to improve its models
Where data is storedNot stated on the pages we readPolicy says it may be stored on servers in the US, Malaysia and SingaporeNot stated on the pages we read (OpusClip is a US company)

Prices as shown on descript.com/pricing (USD), capcut.com/pricing (GBP for a UK visitor; “Sign in to see final pricing, taxes, and any applicable offers”) and opus.pro/pricing (USD), checked 18 October 2026. Descript and OpusClip don’t say whether VAT is included; CapCut says taxes are shown after sign-in. VAT: UK VAT (standard rate 20%, see GOV.UK) may be added at checkout unless the vendor says otherwise; if you’re VAT-registered, check how the supplier invoices you and ask your accountant how to record it.

1. Descript — best free pick for business video

Descript turns your recording into a transcript, and deleting words in the transcript cuts them from the video. The Free plan includes 60 media minutes a month, 100 one-time AI credits and local export up to 720p (Descript pricing). Hobbyist (US$16 a month billed annually, US$24 monthly) adds 10 media hours, 400 AI credits a month and 1080p watermark-free export.

Pick Descript if…

  • You make talking-head videos, webinars, demos or podcasts and want to edit them like a document.
  • 720p is enough while you test, or you’ll upgrade for 1080p.
  • You want control over AI training: switch off Share data with Descript in App Settings → Profile (Descript help).

2. CapCut — templates and social edits

CapCut’s Free plan offers free templates and basic editing tools; Pro is displayed at GBP 21.99 a month with 1,200 monthly AI credits and 1 TB of storage, though CapCut says displayed pricing is for reference only (CapCut pricing). Before using it for client or staff footage, read the UK/EEA section of its privacy policy: it says user content is used to improve and develop the services, including training machine-learning models, on the basis of legitimate interests, and that data may be stored in the United States, Malaysia and Singapore.

Pick CapCut if…

  • You make trend-led social videos and want templates to start from.
  • Your footage isn’t confidential and you’re comfortable with CapCut’s data use.

3. OpusClip — long video to short clips

OpusClip finds the strongest moments in a long video and turns them into vertical clips with captions. The Free plan gives 60 credits a month and renders clips up to 1080p, but free clips have a watermark, there’s no editing, and clips can’t be exported after 3 days (OpusClip pricing). Starter (US$15 a month, monthly only) removes the watermark; Pro is US$29 monthly or US$14.50 a month billed annually (US$174 a year). OpusClip says it may use de-identified data from individual users to improve its AI; enterprise data isn’t used (OpusClip help).

Pick OpusClip if…

  • You already record long webinars, podcasts or talks and want social clips from them fast.
  • A watermark is fine while you test, or you’ll pay for Starter.

Privacy note for UK businesses

Video of staff, customers or clients is personal data under UK GDPR. Get consent from anyone on camera, avoid uploading confidential footage to tools that train on user content, and check each provider’s terms on international transfers. Descript says current production AI models use no user data and in-house training uses only data from users who opted in (Descript help); CapCut’s UK/EEA policy relies on legitimate interests to use content for machine-learning training (CapCut privacy policy); OpusClip may use de-identified data from non-enterprise users (OpusClip help). See the ICO guidance on international transfers. This is general information, not legal advice.

FAQ

What is the best free AI video editor in the UK?
For most UK small businesses we’d start with Descript: its Free plan includes 60 media minutes a month and lets you edit video by editing the transcript, with export up to 720p. CapCut suits template-led social edits and OpusClip turns long videos into short clips.
Which free AI video editor has no watermark?
OpusClip says its free clips have a watermark, removed from the Starter plan at US$15 a month. Descript sells its paid plans as watermark-free, and CapCut’s pricing page does not state watermark rules for its free plan, so check before you rely on it.
Is CapCut safe to use for business videos?
Read its privacy policy first. CapCut’s UK and EEA terms say user content is used to improve its services, including training machine-learning models, and data may be stored in the United States, Malaysia and Singapore.
Does Descript use my videos to train AI?
Descript says its production AI models use no user data, and in-house research models only use data from users who opted in to data sharing. You can switch off Share data with Descript in App Settings, Profile.
How much does OpusClip cost?
OpusClip has a free plan with 60 credits a month. Starter is US$15 a month (monthly only) and Pro is US$29 monthly or US$14.50 a month billed annually, as listed on 18 October 2026.
Have you tested these tools?
No. This roundup is based on each vendor’s official documentation and published pricing, checked on 18 October 2026. Prices change, so check the vendor’s page before you buy.

Sources

Official pages read on 18 October 2026. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change — always check the vendor’s own page before you buy.