Roundup · Automation
The best free AI automation tool for UK small businesses (2026)
How we research: this comparison is based on each vendor’s official documentation, help centre and published pricing, read on 18 October 2026. We haven’t tested these tools hands-on for this page, and we haven’t been paid to include any tool. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change.
Automation tools connect the apps you already use — your inbox, Google Sheets, Xero, Shopify, your CRM — so routine jobs run without you, and all three below now add AI steps too. Each has a free option, but the limits differ a lot. Here’s which one we’d start with for a UK small business, based on each vendor’s published pricing and documentation.
Best free pick
Make is the best free AI automation tool for most UK small businesses: its Free plan includes 1,000 credits a month (Zapier’s includes 100 tasks), and you can choose an EU data centre when you create your organisation. Visit Make ↗
Also consider: Zapier if you want the simplest two-step “when this, do that” automations · n8n if you (or your IT person) can run it on your own server — the self-hosted Community Edition is free.
Free plans compared
| Make | Zapier | n8n | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free option | Free plan: 1,000 credits a month | Free forever: 100 tasks a month, two-step Zaps, unlimited Zaps, Tables and Forms | Community Edition: free to self-host (from GitHub); n8n Cloud has a free trial, no card needed |
| How usage is counted | Credits: most module actions use 1 credit; some AI features use more | Tasks: every step in a Zap uses tasks; AI and code steps draw from the same pool | Workflow executions: a full run counts once, however many steps |
| Paid from | Core from US$9/month for 10,000 credits (listed on Make’s comparison page; billing period not stated there) | Professional from US$19.99/month billed yearly (US$29.99 monthly) | Cloud Starter £20/month billed annually (£24 monthly), 2,500 executions |
| Currency shown | USD | USD | GBP (for a UK visitor) |
| Where data is stored | US or EU data centre, chosen per organisation (can’t be changed later) | AWS servers in the United States | Self-hosted: your own server. n8n Cloud: Microsoft Azure in the EU |
| AI training | Not stated on the pages we read | Doesn’t train on data that runs through your workflows; may learn from workflow structure unless you opt out | Not stated on the pages we read |
Prices as shown on zapier.com/pricing (USD), Make’s Make vs Zapier page (USD; Make’s pricing page plan cards didn’t render for us) and n8n.io/pricing (GBP for a UK visitor), checked 18 October 2026. None of these pages says whether VAT is included. VAT: UK VAT (standard rate 20%, see GOV.UK) may be added at checkout unless the vendor says otherwise; if you’re VAT-registered, check how the supplier invoices you and ask your accountant how to record it.
1. Make — best free plan for most small businesses
Make’s Free plan includes 1,000 credits a month, and most actions use one credit, so a scenario with three modules uses about three credits each time it handles an item (Make pricing FAQ). Paid plans start with Core from US$9 a month for 10,000 credits, according to Make’s comparison page. For UK businesses the stand-out is data location: each Make organisation can be created in a US or EU data centre, and the choice is permanent (Make help: organisations). Make notes that some AI features and models still route to the US or the UK, and that connecting your own AI provider removes its EU guarantee (Make AI data zones).
Pick Make if…
- You want the biggest free allowance of the three hosted options.
- You want data in an EU data centre.
- You’re happy with a visual, flowchart-style builder.
2. Zapier — simplest to start
Zapier’s Free plan is “free forever” with 100 tasks a month and two-step Zaps (one trigger, one action), plus unlimited Zaps, Tables and Forms (Zapier pricing). Multi-step Zaps, premium apps and webhooks need Professional, from US$19.99 a month billed yearly or US$29.99 monthly. Zapier hosts data on AWS in the United States (Zapier data privacy). It says it doesn’t train on the data that runs through your workflows on any plan, but may learn from how workflows are built unless you opt out with a form; Enterprise accounts are opted out automatically (Zapier security).
Pick Zapier if…
- Your automations are simple “when this, do that” pairs.
- You want the gentlest learning curve and don’t mind US hosting.
- You’ll stay under 100 tasks a month, or budget for Professional.
3. n8n — free if you can self-host
n8n’s Community Edition is a free, self-hosted version available on GitHub (n8n pricing). Self-hosting means you run and secure the server, but workflow data stays on your own infrastructure and n8n never receives it (n8n privacy docs). If you’d rather not run a server, n8n Cloud starts at £20 a month billed annually (£24 monthly) for 2,500 workflow executions, with a free trial that needs no card; n8n says Cloud is hosted on Microsoft Azure in the EU (n8n security). On Cloud, telemetry can’t be switched off and n8n records sessions in the interface (credential values aren’t recorded; recordings are deleted after 21 days).
Pick n8n if…
- You have someone technical who can host and update it.
- You build AI agents or long, many-step workflows, where per-execution pricing helps.
- You want pound pricing and EU hosting on the Cloud plans.
Privacy note for UK businesses
Automations move customer data between apps, so each tool becomes a processor under UK GDPR: sign its data processing terms, connect only the accounts you need, and don’t send special-category data through AI steps without thinking it through. Make (EU data centre option) and n8n (self-hosted, or EU-hosted Cloud) give you more control over location than Zapier, which hosts in the US. Read the ICO guidance on international transfers. This is general information, not legal advice.
FAQ
What is the best free AI automation tool in the UK?
Is Zapier free?
Is n8n really free?
Can I keep automation data in the EU?
Does Zapier train AI on my data?
Have you tested these tools?
Related
Sources
Official pages read on 18 October 2026. Checked 18 October 2026, prices change — always check the vendor’s own page before you buy.